OAEAOregon Art Education Association

professional awards

Announcing the 2016 Professional Awards!

Oregon Art Educator of the Year:

Michael Simmons- Buckman Elementary, Portland Public Schools

Oregon Elementary Level Art Educator of the Year

Anna Mafchir- Vernon Elementary, Portland Public Schools

Oregon Middle Level Art Educator of the Year

Jennifer Cerasin- Inza R. Wood Middle School, West Linn-Wilsonville School District

Oregon Secondary Level Art Educator of the Year

Jeannine Miller- Tualatin High School, Tigard-Tualatin School District

Oregon Rookie Art Educator of the Year

Amber Sprague- Athey Creek Middle School, West Linn-Wilsonville School District

Outstanding Service Outside the Profession

Pat Clark- Atelier 6000, Bend, Oregon

Distinguished Service Inside the Profession

Katie Gillard- Bonnie Slope Elementary, Beaverton School District

Retired Art Educator of the Year

John Beck- Dallas High School (Retired), Dallas School District

2015 OAEA Professional Awards

2015 Oregon Art Educator of the Year

     Janice PackardEstacada High School

2015 Oregon Secondary Art Educator of the the Year

     Megan RadochaSherwood High School

2015 Oregon Mid-Level Art Educator of the Year

     Brian CookSouth Meadows Middle School (Hillsboro S.D.)

2015 Oregon Primary Art Educator of the Year

     Margaret Synan-RussellOregon Episcopal School (Portland)

2015 OAEA Rookie of the Year

     Susan RussellMadison High School (Portland Public Schools)

2015 OAEA Museum Art Educator of the Year

      Sharon KaplanUniversity of Oregon

2015 OAEA Distinguished Service Outside the Profession

     Arvie SmithPacific Northwest College of Art

These fine professionals were nominated by their colleagues and their nomination materials were rated through a process of blind adjudication according to specific rubrics from the National Art Education Association (continue reading below).  We will honor these seven art educators at our awards breakfast on Saturday, October 10 at Southern Oregon University in Ashland, as part of our annual two-day professional conference.

The Oregon Art Education Association administers a professional awards program to recognize and highlight excellence in the many outstanding individuals, associations, and programs devoted to furthering art education in our state.  Following the standards and procedures set forth by the National Art Education Association, OAEA’s purpose is:


*  to focus professional attention on quality art education and exemplary art

*  to increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education;

*  to set standards for quality art education and show how they can be achieved; 

*  to provide tangible recognition of achievement, earn respect of colleagues, and
         enhance professional opportunities for NAEA / OAEA members.

The chairperson for OAEA’s professional awards program is the OAEA Past-President, Christopher Shotola-Hardt (2014 & 2015 cycles).  The chairperson collects the nominations, contacts the nominees and asks them to provide support materials that address the requirements from NAEA.  Shotola-Hardt assembles the awards committee to rate the nomination materials for each candidate according to the rubrics provided by NAEA (http://www.arteducators.org/grants/awards-program-rubrics#sthash.in5EoCzv.dpuf); the chairperson is not allowed to nominate or vote. 

Shotola-Hardt supplied the three awards committee members with all of the nominations and supporting information.  Committee members had a rubric sheet from NAEA for each nominee, and all proper nouns (all names, names of schools, districts, towns, etc.) were removed for this blind adjudication.  Awards committee members did not communicate with one another, and likely didn't know who the other jurors were – Shotola-Hardt asked art educators from different regions of the state to serve on this committee.  They rated each candidate according to the rubric, tallied their ratings, and submitted them to the awards chair.